Simming Prize Medal


The Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing in Memory of Seth Cotis

The Simming Prize is the Nobel Prize of the play-by-post online role-playing ("simming") community. (Or at least we like to think so!)

Up to five Prizes are bestowed each year to individuals or entities (games, clubs, or organizations) who (1) exemplify service, quality, and dedication within the play-by-post online role-playing; or who (2) pioneer new technology or techniques within the community. The Prizes can recognize a significant onetime accomplishment, or sustained contributions over a period of time. Individuals and entities that win a prize are entitled to use the honorific Simming Prize Laureate.

Officially known as the The Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing in Memory of Seth Cotis, the Simming Prize honors the memory of Seth Cotis, founder of the Starfleet Legacy Alliance and a long-time leader within the Simming League.

The Simming Prize was established by the Simming League and first awarded in 1999. Initially, Prizes were awarded in five categories - Internet Technology, Literature, Management, Peace, and Service. These categories were discarded in 2007, and since that time the Simming Prize has been issued without a category. Following the death of Seth Cotis in 2005, the Simming League proposed to establish a Seth Cotis Medal of Honor in his memory. Ultimately, the already established Simming Prize was instead renamed in his honor.

After the Simming League ceased operations in 2011, responsibility for the Simming Prize was transferred to Ongoing Worlds, and in 2012 to SimEnc. In 2014, responsibility for the Simming Prize was entrusted to a group of trustees. The Prizes are now issued in the name of the trustees and are no longer associated with a larger organization.

The Simming Prize is awarded annually for nominations received during the previous year.